Hey, Californians! Now that California is lastly promoting leisure marijuana, you is perhaps pondering “Great, now I can get rid of this card.” But if you’re additionally pondering “Great, I can’t wait to get stoned and drive to work,” you might have a refresher course on what’s authorized and what’s not. California’s Proposition 64 permits for leisure use for marijuana, but additionally imposes a number of guidelines to maintain everybody protected when out and about.
Buy Weed, No Card Required
As of January 1 2018, you now not want a medical marijuana card to get your self some pot. As lengthy as you’re 21 and over, you’re in a position to buy as much as one ounce of marijuana, or eight grams of concentrated hashish. If you are a medical marijuana affected person, you’ll be exempt from the retail gross sales tax on medical hashish if you possess a Medical Marijuana Identification Card issued by the California Department of Public Health.
You can develop your individual marijuana vegetation, as much as six at a time. Since you’re rising it your self, you get to reap and hold no matter your vegetation produce, although it should be in a locked container, out of view from the general public. That plant can solely be grown indoors, or inside an enclosed construction.
You Still Can’t Smoke in Public
Smoking marijuana in public remains to be unlawful, and brings with it a $100 fantastic. You’re additionally prohibited from consuming marijuana close to colleges and daycare facilities, and can’t have any marijuana when on faculty grounds. Of course, anybody underneath 21 is prohibited from possessing marijuana of any quantity.
You can have marijuana in your automobile, although driving whereas underneath the affect of marijuana is unlawful, identical to driving inebriated. Also, that marijuana should be in a sealed container. If that seal is damaged, you’ll need to put your pot in the trunk of your automobile.
You’re solely allowed to buy as much as one ounce of marijuana. Any extra and you’re committing a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fantastic or a number of months in jail. If you’re rising marijuana, you can hold as a lot as your vegetation harvest.
Written and Published By Psy-23 In Weed World Magazine Issue 135