The Grand Canyon State has legalized leisure hashish by way of Proposition 207— also called the Smart and Safe Act—which handed with 60% of the vote.
The victory is all of the sweeter in gentle of Arizona’s failed try and legalize an analogous invoice in 2016.
Here’s what happens next.
Is leisure hashish authorized proper now?
No, not fairly but.
The actual date that possessing hashish is authorized in Arizona stays unclear. While residents will indisputably be within the clear as soon as the licensed retail program is energetic, getting busted earlier than then isn’t totally out of the query.
Our recommendation: if you wish to play it secure, get your self a medical card and sleep straightforward.
When can I purchase it legally?
Probably next April.
Prop 207 requires state officers to ascertain program laws by April 5, 2021, at which level adult-use retail licenses have to be handed out. They might, nonetheless, be handed out sooner.
Current medical dispensaries, in addition to a handful of aspiring hashish entrepreneurs (extra on that beneath), can have by way of the tip of March, 2021, to use for a leisure license.
“Our adult use stores [will be] up and running by 4/20,” Richard instructed Leafly.
Election Day stress? Chill with these 5 dank strains
Will there be a marijuana tax?
Adult-use hashish merchandise shall be topic to a 16% excise tax along with Arizona’s regular 5.6% gross sales tax.
So the entire tax shall be 21.6%.
Cannabis excise tax income will assist public security, public well being packages, neighborhood schools, and infrastructure initiatives.
Can my city ban weed shops?
Although cities and counties can choose out of new adult-use dispensaries, they can not forestall present medical dispensaries from buying an adult-use license. So, so long as you reside someplace with a medical marijuana dispensary now, you’ll doubtless have an adult-use retailer, too.
Will there be numerous new rec retailers?
It relies on what you imply by “new.”
Most adult-use retail licenses will go to Arizona’s 130 at present working medical dispensaries. Those dispensaries received’t routinely have the ability to provide leisure merchandise. They’ll be required to use for adult-use licenses.
The state can even concern 26 new social fairness adult-use retail marijuana licenses, and an extra handful of latest licenses in rural counties which are at present dwelling to lower than two medical dispensaries.
What’s the authorized possession restrict?
Once it’s authorized, adults 21 or older will have the ability to possess one ounce of marijuana (with not more than 5 grams of it being marijuana focus).
Possessing between one and a pair of.5 ounces shall be handled as a petty offense, and minors caught with lower than one ounce might obtain a $100 most wonderful and 4 hours of drug counseling.
Can I develop marijuana at dwelling?
Yes. Each grownup shall be allowed to own and domesticate as much as six vegetation at dwelling.
Will there be an expungement course of?
Yes. It begins next summer season.
Beginning July 12, 2021, folks beforehand convicted of possessing lower than an oz of marijuana, a most of six vegetation, or hashish paraphernalia, can petition to have their document expunged.
Prop. 207 has allotted funds—generated by way of licensing charges and medical card charges—to assist neighborhood organizations that can in flip support an estimated 200,000 Arizonans with the expungement course of itself.
Can I get fired for utilizing authorized weed?
Employers nonetheless have the correct to take care of a drug- and alcohol-free office.
Although no employer exams workers members for consuming wine the evening earlier than exhibiting up for work, many proceed to check for off-the-job hashish use—and will, by legislation, fireplace an worker for personal, private use.